

STATEMENT HOUSE AND SENATE DEMOCRATS

For Immediate Release

Press Contacts:

Hannah Kurowski Hannah.kurowski@oregonlegislature.gov

Amanda Kraus Amanda.kraus@oregonlegislature.gov

Oregon House and Senate Democrats Condemn Newberg School Staff Member's Racist Conduct and Use of Blackface

Salem, Ore. - Today members of the Oregon Democratic Caucus make the following statement in response to <u>reports</u> of a staff member at Mabel Rush Elementary School in the Newberg School District attending work on Friday in blackface:

"Blackface is not about putting on a costume, it is racist, anti-Black, and evokes a deeply racist and painful history of othering and denigrating Black communities. This harmful and irresponsible behavior has no place in Newberg or anywhere. Newberg's BIPOC students, staff, and families deserve better than this.

"This deeply traumatizing incident and the "slave trade" Snapchat group that Newberg High School students participated in are further examples of the pervasive racism and discrimination in the Newberg community and the state of Oregon as a whole. At a time like this, leaders from all corners of the community and state must come together to condemn this behavior and prioritize student safety and wellbeing. We hold the students, families, and staff of the Newberg School District in our hearts today.

"Once again, we call on the Newberg School Board to change course. We urge the School Board majority to rescind the ban on Black Lives Matter signs and Pride flags and back down from repealing the Every Student Belongs Act. Anti-racist and equity practices should start from the top. The Newberg School Board must prioritize creating a safe, affirming learning environment for all students and employees."

Senate Majority Leader Rob Wagner Sen. Lew Frederick Sen. Kate Lieber Sen. Kayse Jama

Sen. James Manning Jr.

Sen. Deb Patterson

Sen. Sara Gelser

House Majority Leader Barbara Smith Warner

Rep. Andrea Valderrama

Rep. Tawna Sanchez

Rep. Teresa Alonso León

Rep. Khanh Pham

Rep. Ricki Ruiz

Rep. Janelle Bynum

Rep. Andrea Salinas

Rep. Mark Meek

Rep. Wlnsvey Campos

Rep. Lisa Reynolds

Rep. John Lively

Rep. Anna Williams

Rep. Brad Witt

Rep. Zach Hudson

Rep. Dacia Grayber

Rep. Dan Rayfield

Rep. David Gomberg

Rep. Marty Wilde

Rep. Jason Kropf

Rep. Julie Fahey

Rep. Karin Power

Rep. Courtney Neron

Rep. Rachel Prusak

Rep. Maxine Dexter